Lost Fiance...

xoitsmae
New Contributor

Lost Fiance...

Hi all, 

I'm new to this whole cancer council support system, but i thought i'd give this a go. 

Long story short my boyfriend (and fiance)'s father was diaognosed with a tumor in his lung in 2017

(un-operable) just after we signed our lease to move out together. His father wanted us to continue with life as normal and for the past two years it has gone by so fast, He started with chemo then moved over immunthearpy. (is that what is called im not sure?) 

He gave us the news the other day that a small spot has appeared in his liver, which apparently can be quite fatel if not looked after immediately which means more chemo, but soon as he goes back on chemo that's it he cant do immunethearpy ever again. We are there supporting him where we can, unfortunately i think quietly within ourselves everyone is prepared and knows there is no good outcome for this but he's been going strong for two years so i guess its just a question of when. 

Here is my question. 

Last year on mine and my fiance's three year anniversary he proposed to me whilst on our holiday in disney land it was incredible a dream come true. We don't have a date yet... we were thinking sometime next year. HOWEVER i don't know if i should bring up or what way is a good way to bring up the idea that maybe even though we arn't exactly where we want to be before marriage, should we be looking at marrying earlier with his fathers recent update? I don't even know if that's a appropriate thing to ask? is it a smart thing to disscuss it? just to have that thought of "okay if this happens or it gets to this stage and where not married yet we marry now so that he gets to see it and be apart of it?" Like i've never dealt with a loved one possibly having to pass away from cancer that is connected to me in this way as deeply as a father in-law and i love him very very much.