My beautiful mum has just been diagnosed with bowel

Isawolfe
Occasional Visitor

My beautiful mum has just been diagnosed with bowel

As a nurse I feel like I’m supposed to be the strong informative one, but inside I’m falling to pieces. I’m not coping with this and could use some words of wisdom.

4 REPLIES 4
sch
Super Contributor

Re: My beautiful mum has just been diagnosed with bowel

Hi Isawolfe,

I'm very sorry to hear about your Mum.  No matter our vocation, dealing with the loss of a loved one is always very difficult to deal with.

I'm not too sure if I'm qualified to be imparting wisdom to a nurse (or wisdom full stop to be honest), but perhaps I could share some of my thoughts.

You might be a nurse, but you are were a daughter first.  Inside the clinical environment of the hospital, you have been trained to put emotion and feelings aside so that you can concentrate on the patient's needs. Now when your mother is ill, everything is reversed. Don't fight these feelings.

There are many people here who have had bowel cancer (myself included) and survived. My father was diagnosed with the same, and lived for many years after diagnosis.

Has your Mum received much information about her cancer?

-s

0 Kudos
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Isawolfe  it is so very difficult when our loved ones are diagnosed with a potentially terminal condition if untreated and often even if it is. The plethora of new and at times uncomfortable emotions we experience can be overwhelming. There are so many "what if's?".  We are afraid, we don't want to have to farewell the ones we love,  we wonder how long this journey will be.