My dad has bile duct cancer

Kate85
New Contributor

My dad has bile duct cancer

Hi this is my first time posting on a forum. My dad was diagnosed with bile duct cancer in late October 2021 which had spread to his liver and near by lymph nodes. He hasn’t had a good start with chemo he only had one dose and than his liver function wasn’t good enough for a second. He managed to get a whole round and than started another round but when He went back to have the second dose of the round his platelet levels were too low and his stomach was swollen with ascites and got admitted to hospital. He had more scans and the cancer has spread to his abominable wall and has a blood clot in his portal vein which he is on blood thinners to manage the clot. 
His oncologist has said he can’t have the same chemo as it wasn’t working and can have a tablet chemo. He saw his oncologist yesterday to start the tablets and has been admitted to hospital for further scans as he is jaundice. They will determine weather they can put a stent in we are still waiting to hear from the doctors but I have a feeling the stent may not be an option. 
has anyone had any experience with this form of cancer? Everything is progressing very quickly and am wondering what will happen if they can’t put a stent in to drain the build up of bile.

3 REPLIES 3
MacL
New Contributor

Re: My dad has bile duct cancer

Hello... My husband was diagnosed with bile duct cancer in December 2021. It has not spread but is inoperable and a stent has been put in. He had a lot of bleeding from the stent and several procedures to stop the bleeding.  He is now starting chemo and we're not sure if we can make it work - it's hard.