Mesothelioma

Brian63
New Contributor

Mesothelioma

Hi all, well here I post. 

2 weeks ago I was diagnosed with Mesothelioma. According to my doctors it is a non curable non treatable disease. I have been given 18 months. Tough call, but no good complaining. I’m a 63 year old builder who only did as I was told as an apprentice, asbestos is a mean oponent. I’m not blaming anyone, s__t happens. I have a great life, beautiful wife beautiful kids, beautiful friends and family. I have had and am determined to have a great life. It will probably catch up to me eventually, but I’ll try and keep a step ahead of it. I know I can get radical surgery done with chemo, but I don’t want my final years spent in hospital and going through debilitating recovery.
I am about to commit to radio therapy soon, which I am comfortable with. However it has been suggested that I get a talc pleurodesis done to the lining of my lungs to prevent fluid build up from the tumor. I have been told mesothelioma tumours get aggravated by surgery. Has any one had this done and could you confide in me your opinions please. 

3 REPLIES 3
LindaG
Regular Contributor

Re: Mesothelioma

Hi Brian63, so sorry about your diagnosis. I have had cancer but not mesothelioma. It’s always such a shock when you go from healthy to a diagnosis of cancer. Sounds like you have a wonderful family and they all must be so upset for you. I don’t have any advice on your treatment, just wanted to say you are in my thoughts and prayers. Hope you can get some advice from other mesothelioma sufferers. 🙏💕 LindaG 

Brian63
New Contributor

Hi Linda thank you for taking the time to reply, yep my family and friends are just beautiful in their responses. saying it’s a day to day process is understating the agony of waiting. 

Michele63
Occasional Contributor

Hello

My late father had mesothelioma and passed away back in 2004.