Secondary cancer

Warren
New Contributor

Secondary cancer

I have been diagnosed with cancer in the Lympth nodes in my neck. And told this is a secondary cancer . This was done , by an ultrasound guiding a biopsy heels in my neck. I have also had an CT scan of my chest and neck . But no cancer four . So no primary yet Still waiting to see the Oncologist. Who I'm told will order a camera down my throat to see if the primary is there. I'm told it's a good bet . As I have a horse voice at the moment. And find it hard to sell low most of the time. My question is "Who's secondary cancer is in their lymph nodes ??? Warren
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
CaptainAustrali
Super Contributor

Re: Secondary cancer

Warren, mate I'm no expert, just dealing with a recent diagnosis myself, but I understand it works like this: Cancer is commonly first found in the lymph nodes because they swell up. If cancer is in a primary site, then its normally the adjacent lymph node that swells. (Example, my left neck lymph node was swollen and the cancer turned up on my tonsil). From the first lymph node, it's trying to spread elsewhere in your body, and it's paramount you stop this from happening. If the primary cancer is unknown they call it an "occult" cancer, and treat the area, blasting it with radiation, rather than targetting only the cancer as much as possible (so it's a good idea to find out where exactly the cancer is). I did a thing called a PET scan, where you take a radioactive protein that spreads through your body to find toxic cells and highlight them .. apparently it's a definitive way to locate cancer in your body. I'd personally ask for this.
0 Kudos
CaptainAustrali
Super Contributor