Acute myeloid leukaemia

kathleen1990
Not applicable

Acute myeloid leukaemia

Hey everyone, I am Kathleen with a "K" never a "C" I love to workout, paint, being smiley and laughing like I can no longer breathe, shop for art supplies..yes I am addicted to art supplies like a woman is to shoes and I love exploring new places. I am an artist and a qualified teacher aide, I am 24 with a mum, 2 sisters, a future brother in law, and so many more aunties, uncles and cousins it would be too long to read, not to forget I have a gorgeous 7 year old ruby king Charles cavalier named Noah. Which leads me to my life with cancer. When I was 3 and my sisters were 5 and 1 my dad died at 38 years old passed sadly from acute myeloid leukaemia with complications from a heart attack, I have always known my life with just my mum and my sisters till I was I was told at 12 that my dad wasn't on a lifelong holiday he actually died. When I was 13, I snuck around and I found out more about my dad's death going to bed that night finding out...shaking like a leaf blaming myself and wondering why it had to be my dad? He was such a great man, a great husband, a great friend, a great son, a great teacher and so much more to many other people that I may never know. My dad didn't deserve to get cancer he was law abiding, didn't get thrown into jail, didn't upset or hurt anyone he knew he was a devoting husband and the most gentlest kindest dad that people spoke about..so I asked why is cancer a bitch for taking away great people who didn't deserve to be taken away so soon? When I was 16, I had to choose a work experience placement and decided to do it with my godfather/uncle Anthony, it was strange since he was a travelling artist so when my dad died till 16 I didn't see him much, as soon as I started work experience we clicked and bonded, he taught me so much about art and exposed me to new things I wouldn't of tried like my first tasting of peppermint tea and what it takes to maintain a studio. O