How can I help my Dad. I feel helpless.

KarenC81
Visitor

How can I help my Dad. I feel helpless.

Hello. I am new to this page. My Dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer nearly 6mths ago. Thankfully they could operate however the surgeon found it had spread to lymphnodes and in his stomach. They were happy with the op outcome. He has been waiting to start chemo again but has a drip as his pancreas  (the1/3 he has left) is continuing to leak. He can't start until it has stopped and they remove his drip. He had a scan to check things out and has now discovered in this 7 weeks post op that it is in his liver. I feel helpless and I justcan't comprehend why my beautiful Dad is going through this. I see that it is beginning to affect him mentally as he is no longer his happy self. 

4 REPLIES 4
iloveyoudearly7
Frequent Contributor

Re: How can I help my Dad. I feel helpless.

Evening,

I'm sorry to hear about the delay, i see that they're wanting to do chemotherapy but desire to wait after the dip has ceased. Have the doctors considered radiotherapy or spoken to you about other treatments? Radiotherapy could always be an option while you wait. They could target the newly discovered liver?

Don't forget there's no harm in seeking another opinion as well. Always helped us despite the stages and condition but mind you some doctors don't like this. We had to fight and push back every step, no regrets. Those steps always helped us cover ground.

Mel1
Occasional Visitor

Hello 

I am new to this online community and have just come across your post. How are you and your dad doing? 

My dad also has pancreatic cancer. He was diagnosed in 2017 and also had the whipples surgery followed by a 5 week course of chemotherapy to ‘mop’ up any floating cancer cells.