My little sister has terminal melanoma and I'm struggling

Reece87

My little sister has terminal melanoma and I'm struggling

Hi everyone, this is my first time in any groups so I hope I'm in the right one. 

My sister was diagnosed on new years day 2023 with stage 4 Melanoma that had spread to her brain, lungs, stomach and bowl. She has over 20 lesions in her brain alone with 3 of them pushing on the frontal lobe. She was originally given only 3 weeks, but she's been fighting with chemo and lots of anti seizure medication and it was working. But then the seiures began again at the end of this year and on Friday she called me to tell me her oncologist had given her 3- 6 months left to live. 

My sister lives in Melbourne, and I'm in Newcastle. I feel so trapped and powerless to do anything. They said if she qualifies, she could get gamma knife, but its only going to buy time, it won't cure her. 

I try not to cry when I video chat with her and I'm trying to organise getting out to see her, but even then, there's nothing I can do except hold my sister for what could very well be the last time.

I feel selfish for even writing this down. I know I'm not the one dying. 

I'm trying to stay strong for my son, and still trying to go out and do things, but its so hard to enjoy anything. 

I feel empty.

We grew up on a small property backing onto a dairy farm, it was just me and her playing outside most days. We did everything together from jumping off the water tank on the trampoline to getting chased by a bull in the back paddock. 

I just can't imagine losing her so early. She's only 35. There's still so much left. So much she won't get to see. She has a 7 year old she won't get to watch grow up. 

And they are so far away. 

I'm sorry, I don't know what I'm looking for by posting this? Maybe some advice on how to cope with all this? My boss and my counsellor said I should look for something like this so I'm sorry if I'm in the wrong place.

3 REPLIES 3
LindaG