how do you keep going ??

garyowencat
New Contributor

how do you keep going ??

Hi- this is my first time writing in a forum so here goes- I'm feeling so low tonight, I have just helped my dad who has terminal cancer force down some dinner, swallow his pain killers and tucked him up in bed. He never sleeps for long, either needing the toilet or heaving and sweating terribly. I am so tired but feel guilty for thinking of myself when what he is going through is so bad. I try to look on the bright side as often as possible and celebrate in the little daily successes we some times have such as finishing all of the custard and jelly he has in his bowl for dinner or when he is able to walk to the chicken coop to feed his beloved chickens. At least when he is sleeping he is at peace right? and when the tablets are working well he is pain free right? don't know how I will see this through with him - but I have to.
0 Kudos
15 REPLIES 15
little_stitcher
Super Contributor

Re: how do you keep going ??

Hi Garyowencat,I'm so sorry to hear what you and your Dad are going through. Your title asked "How do you keep going"- celebrating small daily successes is just the way you will keep going. Keep in touch with this forum, too. It's a great place to vent/share/encourage/ask/tell: we're all in similar situations (although noone is exactly the same), so we can all understand a bit about what everyone else is going through. Keep posting, we're all cheering you on. love Emily
0 Kudos
m.portelli
Occasional Contributor