new need advice

Pauline
New Contributor

new need advice

Hello, My name is Pauline. I am from Tasmania Australia. I am new to this. I have recently had a health scare. I found a lump in my breast. I went to the doctor and was sent for tests. I had a biopsy of bith breasts as there were two supicious lumps there. It turns out they were ok. Just now I am worried as my family history is strong with breast cancer. Both grandmothers and two aunts from my mothers side died from this. Not sure what to do thinking of asking for a genetic test. Any advice? I am 44 years old. Thanks for your help.
0 Kudos
2 REPLIES 2
Mystik73
Occasional Contributor

Re: new need advice

Hi Pauline , Keep up with regualar breast screening and checking, i would get genetic testing done to be on safe side , it will give an indication on your statistics of developing breast cancer etc My mum recently was diagnosed with non invasive breast cancer and has had 2 surgerys and currently doing radiation therapy. It is quiet a concern ive lost most of my family members to cancer and im scared of whats to come also. My appointment is in 2 weeks to get reffered to the right places for checking and testing. I havnt offered much but just know if you need to talk at all im here :) Mystik73
0 Kudos
Terrafirma
Contributor

Re: new need advice