work, getting back into it, or out of it

pinkeye
Occasional Contributor

I only found out about this forum from a cancer council lady at a recent Relay for Life event and thought I'd post to try it out. This post is for anyone who wants to share their experiences about returning to work after cancer.  I hope you can post your experiences here.  I am in remission after treatment for blood cancer, had a bone marrow transplant last year which fixed me up.  And I feel great about that! Last January I returned to work part time four days a week, and was as keen as mustard to get back into it.  I think it was too early, and had to change it to three days a week.  I am a high school teacher so there isn't a lot more flexibility left in the the job, ie shorter days or less days.  I am finding that three days a week stresses me out and I end up doing work on my days off to keep up with things. Thing is, after all these years, I think I have come to the conclusion that I don't want to teach any more.  After facing an initial 50-50 prognosis my reaction to life has changed, priorities have changed, and I don't feel like putting up with other peoples s*** anymore.  Since going back to work my blood pressure has gone thru the roof, and it could be due to my line of work.  One of the antirejection drugs I am on also raises blood pressure, so we (doctors and I) are trying varying medications and increasing antihypertensives to control the BP.  After raising the dose of antihypertensives my BP is still high.  So I am monitoring my BP daily at home and at work and keeping records to see if changing medication levels will help.  I have a side effect of the transplant called graft versus host disease that affects my liver and a few other things (gives me blood shot eyes as well).  This hasn't improved since going back to work either.  I have got used the the astronomical figures that come back in my liver function tests every month, they go up and down like they have a life of their