After mastectomy

Pinkroses
Occasional Contributor

After mastectomy

I had mastectomy of my right breast 3 weeks ago.  Pathology showed DCIS at 12cm, and that cancer was totally removed, so I don't have to have radiotherapy or chemo.  I will be on Tamoxifen for 5 years starting in January.  I still have quite a lot of pain at my wound site, and every professional I speak to about it doesn't seem to believe me, saying it should be better by now.   I'm new to this, and don't know what's "normal".  When does it stop?  I want to start wearing a bra again with the temporary prosthesis and to go out looking okay, but it's too sore right now.   Everthing I read says that people can wear the post-op bra almost straight after surgery.   Why can't I?

0 Kudos
3 REPLIES 3
CCNSWAdmin
Community Manager

Re: After mastectomy

Hi Pinkroses - having read your post I thought you might be interested in Cancer Council's Connect Program as its for people who are newly diagnosed and are still trying to understand what's what with treatment and side effects.  If you want more information, you could call 13 11 20 and as about Connect.  Regards, Gabrielle (Cancer Council NSW)

0 Kudos
Pinkroses
Occasional Contributor