Breast Cancer 3rd time round

Jomus07
New Contributor

Breast Cancer 3rd time round

Hi. I'm new to the Forum so I would like to share a bit about myself and the cancer I have.

I am 62 years old and was first diagnosed with stage 2 metastatic breast cancer in 2007. I had a mastectomy and a few lymph nodes removed, but did not need chemo or radiation (although in hindsight, I think I should have). I was also put on Tamoxafen and had regular yearly MRI's, ultrasound and mammograms. Life went along nicely and when I reached the seven year mark, we were all so elated and relieved that I had reached this milestone.

In that time, children grew up and, one by one left the nest and I completed a teaching degree. It was just after graduating in 2015 that a routine MRI showed lesions in the right underarm lymph nodes, the same side where I'd had the mastectomy done. We were all so baffled and devastated by this outcome, especially as I had passed the seven year cancer free mark.

The lymph nodes were removed (32, 14 had cancer in them) and I underwent chemotherapy for four months and radiation for five weeks. During that time, I was hospitalised three times, twice with a fever above 38 degrees and once for heart palpitation.  The treatment was brutal to say the least but I came through it ok and again continued with my life, looking after my Mum who had dementia and working whenever I could.  She passed away in 2018  which (I thought at the time but little did I know) was a difficult year as my sister's husband was diagnosed with brain cancer.  He passed away in 2019.