HAIR LOSS & RETURN TO WORK

Josie

HAIR LOSS & RETURN TO WORK

Hi 

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts or experience with how to manage/what to say with the dramatic change of appearance and the return to work.

I am a high school teacher, returning to work to a school I taught in a few years ago.  I gave up work for a few years having had two children but now I am returning to the same school.  I am very open about having had breast cancer , diagnosed in May last year, and very happy to talk about it.  I am only teaching senior school classes (16/17 year olds) so I know that the students will be able to handle the information. 

I used to have long blonde hair, currently have a sickly fluffy head with some growth. I am only 6 weeks post last chemo.  I am hoping that in another 6 weeks I will have enough so that I can stop wearing the wig.. which appearance wise looks fine, but soo hot and my preference is not to wear it.  I have a feeling that some perceptive kids are going to know that it is a wig as the regrowth is starting to appear through the sides of the wig.

I want to be prepared with the right thing to say to the students.. I dont want to scare them, as some may have/be connected to sad cancer stories (I am very positive about mine - dont consider it sad) and my situation may be a trigger. But that is ok too if I am armed with the right thing to respond with.

I will have to wear my wig for the first month of school and then I will be taking it off so I feel that will be the point when I will say to my classes. This is the story about what happened to my hair.. what do you think?

But what if individuals ask before the wig comes off?I guess I just deal with those questions individually until the wig comes off.. Is that a good approach?  As I write this I have just thought that I will talk this situation through with the school counsellor before school starts.. she will be able to give some insight.. 

0 Kudos
1 REPLY 1
Katekat
Valued Contributor