HER2 positive

Lyn21
Frequent Visitor

HER2 positive

Hello

i am new to this chat … may I ask if any one is going through has gone through or knows someone who has or had HER2 positive?

Would like to know treatment options … how did you go . Good and bad.  
thank you in advance  c

3 REPLIES 3
joseph_CCNSW
Cancer Council Team

Re: HER2 positive

Hello Lyn.

Glad to see you have reached out for support.  Hopefully someone on the forum will respond to you with their experience.  You are welcome to call Cancer Council on 131120 if you would like to hear what options they may have.  Kind regards,  Joseph Cancer Council NSW

0 Kudos
Kylie_nrs
New Contributor

Hello Lyn,

Welcome to the forum! HER2-positive breast cancer is a specific type of breast cancer where the cancer cells have more HER2 proteins than normal. Treatment typically involves a combination of therapies, and the options depend on various factors like the stage of the cancer and individual health.

Here are some common treatment options:

1. Targeted Therapy: This involves medications that specifically target HER2 proteins on cancer cells. The most commonly used targeted therapies are trastuzumab (Herceptin) and pertuzumab (Perjeta). They can help slow or stop the growth of cancer cells that overexpress HER2.

2. Chemotherapy: Often used alongside targeted therapies, chemotherapy helps kill cancer cells throughout the body. Common drugs for HER2-positive cancer include docetaxel, paclitaxel, and carboplatin.

3. Hormone Therapy: If the cancer is also hormone receptor-positive, hormone therapies like tamoxifen or aromatase inhibitors might be used to block hormones that fuel cancer growth. I advise you to order Tamoxifen of the best quality

4. Surgery: Surgery may be recommended to remove the tumor or affected breast tissue, either before or after other treatments.

5. Radiation Therapy: This may be used to target and destroy cancer cells in a specific area, often after surgery.