side effects of radiation

lambshank
Occasional Contributor

side effects of radiation

Hey, I am new to all of this, (though I have had cancer before) I have just finished radiation for throat cancer and was wondering if anyone had any tips on eating, if I ever see another smoothie it will be too soon but I can't swallow even with painkillers and Novocain, also have problems coughing up blood and phlegm.
0 Kudos
19 REPLIES 19
Jules2
Super Contributor

Re: side effects of radiation

Hiya What about eggs, tinned spaghetti, soup? Soluble aspirin before eating? A soup might be your best option at this stage and maybe blend it before eating. Hope some of those help you out. It does get better albeit a tad slowly. Julie
0 Kudos
lambshank
Occasional Contributor

Thanks Julie, I have tried some of those things, and will continue to persevere, but unfortunately my taste has changed too, and some things I think I'm going to enjoy taste really disgusting, but I'm trying to avoid a feeding tube if possible
0 Kudos
Jules2
Super Contributor

Yw lambshank ... just keep persevering. I lost my taste buds and looked upon eating as my "job". It kind of made it easier to tap into a work ethic, rather than trying to think it through at all. I had a feeding tube but only used it before treatment, not during or after. Just keep experimenting, it becomes a toss up between taste and what your mouth will tolerate but eventually you will hit on something that is a winner. I found omellettes particularly handy as they could be plain, with cheese, with vegetables (frozen were the best as they soften easier). Julie
0 Kudos
lambshank
Occasional Contributor

I agree Jules, the longer you go without food the less you feel like eating, so it takes a greater effort and does feel like "work" I like omelettes, and at least you can vary the taste a bit, think I'll treat myself to a one from the Chinese when I go to town tomorrow
0 Kudos
Jules2
Super Contributor