Cancer Newby

Shar92
New Contributor

Cancer Newby

Before I begin, since graduating from High School I always thought to myself that I'd be the one to get cancer. Low and behold, here I am! My name is Shar and I'm 24. In the beginning of May I started feeling unwell. Nothing out of the ordinary, being a teacher I was used to it. But the breathlessness and cough didn't go away. Some weeks passed and I was fed up. Went to the doctors and they told me it was bronchitis. A few weeks down the track and still no improvement. Despite hassling my doctor they brushed it off and treated me like a hypochondriac. I drew the last straw when they told me to come back in a month when the weather warms up. Immediately I switched doctors and they were onto it straight away. On the 7th of September I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Hodgkins Lymphoma. I'm 24. My career was just kicking off. I have a classroom of 29 beautiful children. They were depending on me and I had to leave them behind. It broke my heart but in this situation I know I'm the important one. I have no plans to kick the bucket any time soon. Im going to go down fighting. If not for myself but my 29 kids. They need to know that cancer doesn't have to result in death.
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
grrlboiwonder
Occasional Contributor

Re: Cancer Newby

Hello Shar92 - your post brought tears to my eyes but also a smile. I am wondering who else is on this journey/fight with you or if you feel you need more support? I'm a carer, not a sufferer, to someone with cancer, however the heartache and strength in battling this disease is something all of us on here are going through. Hope you find some connections on here and grab any support you feel you need.
0 Kudos
Shar92
New Contributor