Email to doctor?

bugger
Contributor

Email to doctor?

Does your doctor accept email? During my first encounter with cancer (in 2005) both the oncologist & haematologist were happy to accept email. It was a great relief to me as I lived in a remote location without access to medical specialty services and was able to get some questions answered without having to wait too long. The doctors usually responded within a day and often times within minutes. Not wanting to abuse the service I rarely sent email but throughout the course of my year long treatment probably sent about 8 messages. Having recently been diagnosed again (2010/11) I asked my current medical team if they were OK with accepting email but the response was that they do not reply to patients as they have concerns about identification, security and privacy. So to get any questions to the doctors I need to wait for the weekly meeting or channel concerns through the nursing staff. My background is IT so I understand the doctors concerns but I also understand that these issues have been solved a long time ago, there are countless examples in industry now, for example look at the finance industry. Existing technology could be applied to medical centres to resolve identity & privacy issues. Evidently the government is funding a study into making medical records available online. From my observation the problem is not a technical challenge but a cultural one which will take a generation (for both doctors & patients) to adopt.
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
Jules2
Super Contributor

Re: Email to doctor?

Hey bugger Hmmmm ... I would have thought it was a question of time as much as anything. I have only seen my oncologist twice in the last year, i think!?!? It seems that if we are travelling ok we see other people and if things aren't so good then we get to see the oncologist. Course that is simply my observation from my own experience and i could be completely off track. :) Julie
0 Kudos
harker
Frequent Contributor