Hey newbie here

belinda74
New Contributor

Hey newbie here

Hi everyone, my name is Belinda and I have recently been diagnosed with cervical cancer stage 4. Every thing has happened so fast from diagnosis to treatment that I think it is just sinking in now. I have had radiation and am waiting to go in for brachytherapy, I think that is how you spell it:) I will be going in for 3-4 days and have to stay flat on my back the whole time. If anyone has been through this would love to hear how you coped or if you have any tips. I am so glad I found this forum it has been hard trying to talk to family about what I am going through. thanks for listening Cheers Belinda...
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
kim_carter74
New Contributor

Hi Belinda

Chin up and goodluck with the rest of your treatment. I am new to the Cancer Connection also and just wanted to let you know that your not alone. My mother has just been diagnosed with secondary Endometrial Cancer and this is her 6th lot of cancer!!! Over the past 20 years she has battled and come through triumphantly. Mum has a famous saying that I think helps her get through it all - "There are always others out there worse off than me!" I know it probably seems useless saying something like this when you are going through all of the treatment and the sickness and you just feel horrible but you just have to look past it and hold onto hope that it will all be ok!!! Goodluck and keep on battling!!!
0 Kudos
Seadee
Occasional Contributor

Re: Hey newbie here

Hi Belinda, I also have stage 4 cancer and know how terrified you must feel.It can be really hard talking to friends and family.I don't need people telling me how I should feel and to stay positive, that's why I came to this site, looking for others in the same circumstance who understand.The emotions are overwhelming.Belinda, you are too young to have this and I just want you to know that we care.Hoping your procedure goes well for you and please private message me if you want to chat. Dee x