Teachers with cancer

lisa_d
Not applicable

Teachers with cancer

hi i'm a preschool teacher that has just been diagnosised with Hodgkins lymphoma was wondering if there is any other teachers on here that can give me some advice coping and working with chemo and talking to parents and children about it
0 Kudos
12 REPLIES 12
pinkeye
Occasional Contributor

Teachers with cancer

Hi Lisa I know you posted this thread in March, but I have only just seen it.  I am a teacher as well and was wondering how you are going and how it went with your students at school. I teach high school students, which is a totally different kettle of fish to primary students. John
0 Kudos
mikey
Contributor

Teachers with cancer

Welcome to the forums  I don't think we have any other teachers using the forums just at the moment but I could well be wrong. I work for the Cancer Council NSW and I moderate these forums. I should let you know the Cancer Council has just finished a new publication called  "Cancer in the School Community: a guide for staff members". It includes information on dealing with treatment side effects, choosing to tell your students or their family members, and lots, lots more. It's being launched next Friday, 14 March, at Westmead Children's hospital and is being sent out to principals across the state.
0 Kudos
JulieLV
Occasional Contributor

Re: Teachers with cancer

Hi Lisa, I'm a teacher too, at a primary school in Victoria. I appreciated the new publication. I was sent two copies recently, of which I gave one to my principal. I was diagnosed over a year ago and feel my cancer news and absence wasn't handled that well. But I've moved on and how do I tell new students, parents or colleagues now. My friend is a pre-school teacher. She had Hodgkins Lymphoma about 5 years ago. I'll tell her about this site, so she can tell her own story. She took time off during her chemo. Cheers JulieLV
0 Kudos
samex
Regular Contributor