adenoid cystic carcinoma

Lampwork54
Regular Contributor

Re: adenoid cystic carcinoma

Hi Melissa,  I'm really sorry to hear about your diagnosis.  I'd say your ACC in the breast would be very rare.  Good luck with your Radiotherapy. It's a long slog but will give you the best chance.  Have your doctors mentioned any chemotherapy?  I know it's not usual with ACC but as your primary is in the breast I was just wondering if that changes the option

of chemotherapy.  Am sure you will come through  this.  I hope they get you clear margins after the upcoming operation.  Please keep in touch and let us know how you are doing. 

0 Kudos
SILLY
Super Contributor

Hello Melissa 

I'm glad I found your post as I am not good at using this site since it changed . ACC of the breast affects about 12%  of those with ACC . I used to get the statistics from the Cancer Registry for our cancer but after a few years they started charging a lot of money for that so I stopped . I think ACC of the breast usually has a better outcome compared to ACC in other sites . Of course every person's experience is individual . I can think of at least one Australian in our Australian Facebook group whose cancer was in the breast but I think there are a couple more too.

Please contact me on Facebook as I know of no other way and I'll put you in touch with these others . I live on the Gold Coast but many of our group also live in Brisbane , 
All the best for your next surgery . It sounds as though it will go well . 

Sylvia Farry 

MelissaCraig
Occasional Contributor