chemo.

misskim108
Occasional Contributor

chemo.

ok. had first chemo treatment. a week ago. 3 /4 days of feeling like I was hit by a bus. now. at midnight sudden burst of energy. w t h. ????? is this going to be the same for every treatment. or does it get worse. or do the side effects. get more. annoying.
0 Kudos
2 REPLIES 2
Kathyhtak
Contributor

Re: chemo.

Hi Misskim108, I am quite new to chemo as well - I am in my second 3-week cycle. On day one of cycle I have Cisplatin, Epirubicin and Fluorouracil. The next day is a write-off with extreme nausea, can't keep water down, can't swallow the anti-nausea tablets. Thankfully they've also given me Stemetil suppositories which help. The next two days nausea gradually less bad and able to start eating. I lose a couple of kilos in this first week. Along with the nausea is extreme tiredness. On the second and third weeks of chemo I have Fluorouracil 24/7 via porta-cath and only get slight nausea occasionally. These weeks I spend trying to regain the weight I lost! I am still working full time, mostly in the office but also have the option of working from home on the bad chemo days if I want. My hair started to fall out about week 4 and when it got too straggly and thin I shaved it all off - felt much better gone. Mouth ulcers started this week, mostly on my lips. Bicarb soda mouthwash and constant lip balm is helping heal these. But I understand everyone experience with chemo is different and also depends on what chemo you are on. Chemo is the only option for me (inoperable, incurable oesophageal cancer, spread to liver). I was on liquids only before starting treatment. I am now able to eat better each day, so I thnik the chemo must have already shrunk the tumor. For that I am more than willing to put up with one horrendous day per cycle! All the best and good luck! kathyhtak
0 Kudos
misskim108
Occasional Contributor

Re: chemo.