My husband has pancreatic cancer

Coz
Occasional Contributor

My husband has pancreatic cancer

Hi...not sure if I’m in the right place...first time. My beautiful husband of 36 years was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer  in November 2017.  I’m 58 and he is 63.  From that day on our life has been nothing like our old life. He has liver Mets so operating is  not an option but is currently having chemo and has been in and out of hospital with infections. We always shared  life’s roles...cooking, washing up, cleaning, shopping, he did repairs and bills...since his diagnosis I’ve had to learn so much dealing with our everyday and I’m trying not to think of my life without him but that’s hard.  As a retired nurse I negotiate the medical world for him. its been a rollercoaster ride that we don’t want to be on and having bad news all the time is emotionally and physically draining. I hope I’ve got the energy to cope. Thanks for reading 🌻

5 REPLIES 5
KellyM

Re: My husband has pancreatic cancer

Hi Coz
I am helping to care for my mum who also has metastatic pancreatic cancer so can appreciate how you are feeling. Mum and dad have been married for 50 years next week and my dad is the primary carer for mum, while i help as much as I can around work, kids etc.
He too is facing life without my mum and this is my biggest concern. While I cannot imagine the anguish that mum is suffering, watching my dad lose his best friend and life partner is heartbreaking. The whole experience has been agonising for everyone involved. But we keep going. Because that's what we have to do. And you will find the energy when you need to. And sometimes you won't. And that's OK too. We all pass through this life and have to leave some time. You know he is loved and cared for. You are doing your best, I'm sure.
Sending you virtual hugs and positive energy. Wishing for a miracle for all of us X
Coz
Occasional Contributor