Unknown and Unsure

Mrs_Elton
Contributor

Unknown and Unsure

Hi, I am new to this, both online chatting and the cancer journey. My husband was diagnosed in Feb 2009 with oesophageal cancer which has spread into his abdomen. Surgery and Radiotherapy were not options for treatment. He has just completed his 6th round of chemo. The prognosis we were given in March was 12-18 months with treatment, SCARY stuff. We try not to focus on the time frame thing as we know it is only an educated quess and everyone responds differently. We wanted to keep things as normal as possible, particularly for our two sons who are about to turn 6 & 8. It is very challenging. We are trying to be honest with them at an 'age appropriate' level. The CT scans to date have shown reduction, so we have 'delayed' telling our boys anything more than "Daddy has a growth in the top of his stomach. It shouldn't be there and the Doctor is going to give him medicine to try and make it go away or make it smaller. The medicine might make Daddy feel sick and tired (forgot to mention grumpy!). You will still be able to do the things you normally do school, sport etc, but if Mummy has to take Daddy to get the medicine then we will organize for someone else to take you". Can anyone give me some feedback on how their young children coped?
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
Jules2
Super Contributor

Re: Unknown and Unsure

Hiya Mrs Elton When i was first diagnosed with cancer some years ago my son was only a baby, so i havent really had any experience in the area you are wanting some feedback in. Just wanted to say hi and welcome. It does sound like you are doing all the right things with your children and am sure that the cancer council help line might be able to point you in the right direction. :) Julie
0 Kudos
Mrs_Elton
Contributor