Brain Tumour Newbee

jamessparkwa
Occasional Contributor

Brain Tumour Newbee

Hi all, I am new to this having just been diagnosed with Anaplastic WHO grade 3 brain tumour (removed). I am a young 51 year old with a fantastic, supportive wife and two wonderful daughters but feeling a little lonely on entering uncharted waters with this diagnosis and prognosis. I feel left out with my prognosis and very unsure where to look for information on what's in store. I suppose this is a normal reaction but I feel like I cant burden my immediate family too much and from what I have learnt from "Dr Google" the news to discuss with them is not too positive. My issue/s are what, who and when to tell my family and as I haven't, I really cant talk to any friends about it less the word gets back to my kids before I have had a chance to site down and go through the probable outcome. I guess I feel a little vulnerable and lonely and a little scared of what lies ahead. If anyone out there has or is going through this I would love to hear (and share) your stories. Cheers, JSPKWA
0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
exhausted
Contributor

Re: Brain Tumour Newbee

Hi James, It is a shitty hand you have been dealt. My family has been through your journey over the last 3 years or so. My advice to you is to be totally honest with your children, they have a hard journey to travel with you and honesty I believe is the only way to go. Feel free to read my posts if you like. Fight the hardest you can but also enjoy every moment you have as you go. Cheers Terese.
0 Kudos
jamessparkwa
Occasional Contributor