How to survive christmas holiday period

jsbach
Occasional Contributor

How to survive christmas holiday period

Hi, I was wondering if anyone could offer up some pointers about how to survive the Christmas holiday period? I am a school teacher and am about to have 5 weeks holidays forced on me. My tragic diagnosis was given to me on Dec 6th and, to be honest, I think that the only way I have coped so far is that I have still been working. Can't say that I am looking forward to the quiet times and the questions/thoughts/emotions that are going to occur about the time frame I was given and that the only choice is palliative care. Any advice, greatly appreciated Tim
0 Kudos
9 REPLIES 9
Mignon
Contributor

Re: How to survive christmas holiday period

When my daughter had cancer we had our Christmas celebrations at the Zoo. It provided a lovely distraction and we weren't all sitting at the table trying to pretend everything was the same. I haven't got any suggestions for the holidays, but maybe go somewhere where no-one knows you both and wont ask questions. Feeling for you both.mignon
0 Kudos
SamR
Occasional Contributor

Hi Tim, Do you have any hobbies? If you hadn't received this news, what did you have planned for the break? Sometimes it is carrying on with the "normal" that helps you adjust to the "awful". Diagnosis time, is a crazy roller coaster ride... with information overload at times and decisions left, right and centre. Try to take some time "out" and do peaceful things, such as a walk on the beach, stroll through a park enjoying dappled sunlight. Go and see some movies to make you laugh, visit Art Exhibitions/Museums. Basically do the things you like. Then investigate and read up on possible treatment plans and "own" the direction life is going. There is no blueprint for a human, you are a unique being, so there is always hope, that it will not be a typical progression. Go well Sam
0 Kudos
jsbach
Occasional Contributor