Dealing with terminal cancer of a parent

LozCat
New Contributor

Dealing with terminal cancer of a parent

Hi there. 
My name is Lauren, I am a 27yr old. My beautiful mum found out her inflammatory breast cancer has come back in Feb this year. She was given 6-18mths. She is an amazingly strong women who is a true fighter. This year has been living hell for her, she is currently on a last chance chemo which has been horrible. She gets so sick from it but she wants more than anything the chance for more time with me and my sisters. It has been so difficult dealing with seeing her suffer (I am a nurse.. I find it hard cause I deal with cancer patients at work too). I feel at times I am complete mess, I just can’t stop the tears and fear of loosing her. I do the right things, I see a counsellor, I take meds to help the depression/anxiety, I try and look after myself. But honestly I am struggling. I am mad she has to suffer, why did this have to come back? I don’t want to loose her. I know this is all part of grieving and a fear of the future. But I just wonder what else I can do to be there for her? To try not to break down.

3 REPLIES 3
Budgie
Super Contributor

Re: Dealing with terminal cancer of a parent

Hi Lauren,

You're probably doing all you can already. Just being there for her, with her, is an enormous positive in her life. You don't always have to be strong - it's good therapy to have a cry. There's nothing wrong with having a good cry together either.
Sometimes it's the best thing to just let it all out.
Unfortunately for you, being a nurse, you'll know all the things that your mum has to go thru before she finally has peace.
Talk with her about everything. Ask questions about her past, what it was like in her childhood, etc. Although this will be hard, you should, if you haven't already, talk about her funeral plans. What does she want to happen. It will ensure she gets what she wants, and it will ease the burden on you when she does actually die.