Another newcomer introduces herself

Not applicable

Another newcomer introduces herself

Hello, everyone. I'm a retired writer, and I was diagnosed with advanced lung cancer about 18 months ago. I managed pretty well until recently, ticking off all the items on my bucket list (go to Pompeii, yes; snorkelling over coral reef, yes; tracking the first friend I made at school, yes). Everyone has said I'm facing this with courage and good humour, and I probably am. I reckon that if you can manage to face imminent death from cancer with courage and good humour, why wouldn't you? It's much easier all round. But now my cancer is getting nasty, and the courage and good humour are getting increasingly difficult to maintain. I am on so much oxycodone that I feel dopey all the time and it's unsafe for me to drive (or operate heavy machinery, but I wasn't planning to take up a career as a crane operator anyway). I am getting short-temperered and selfish. Maybe someone with cancer is entitled to be short-tempered and selfish, but I don't want to say something horrible to someone just in case it's the last thing I ever say to them and the last memory they have of me. My family -- husband, two sons, brother and various in-laws and steps -- are hugely supportive, and I love them all dearly. It would simply not be fair on them to snap at them when I know that they love me dearly and are doing their best. So I am looking for a place to let off steam. Have I come to the right place?
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
Catherine251
Occasional Contributor

Re: Another newcomer introduces herself