HOW TO DEAL WITH A LOVE ONE'S ANGER?

cath1
Occasional Contributor

Re: HOW TO DEAL WITH A LOVE ONE'S ANGER?

Hi to you all.

I found this group today and I felt such a deep, overwhelming sadness but I do not feel quite so alone. For that I am grateful. Thank you for easing my mental isolation.

My background is that my Husband has been verbally and physically abusive to me in the past. I did leave him for 18 months but believed he had changed after anger management so came back. He has always had a temper and will not discuss anything unless it suits him.

My husband was diagnosed with stage 4 inoperable lung cancer last July. He was also told he may have 2 years to live if immunotherapy was successful. It was but has now stopped due to it causing severe ulcers.  This was after months of arguments because of his refusal to go to our GP and when he did it was only because I rang the GP.

We were sent up to hospital within an hour  of speaking to his GP because his symptoms were so severe. . That drive up was when it all started.

It was all my fault from then on things have only got worse. I am to blame for everything and he has said such cruel unkind things that some days I wish I was not here.

I have told him how it hurts me, he will be nice for a day and then the slightest thing triggers him again.

I have tried to talk to some people about it but I get comments such as well poor thing it must be so hard for him or its his way of coping with it and such like. Its as though the cancer now gives him a licence to say or do what he wishes and its OK. It makes me feel as though I am uncaring person and I should be more understanding of his behavior. 

He reserves it all for me, to everyone else he is so nice, jolly and caring. This is not the person I live with.