My Dad has recently been diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer

HELPLESSDAUGHTE
Occasional Contributor

My Dad has recently been diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer

-Hi Everyone, I have never used this website before and dont even know if it is appropriate as I am not suffering from cancer. I am the, 'helpless daughter' of a wonderful man who was diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer on the 13th of November, 2008
0 Kudos
13 REPLIES 13
margro
Frequent Contributor

My Dad has recently been diagnosed with terminal pancreatic canc

hi helpless daughter, i am so sorry to hear your dad's outcome.i am 3yrs6mths past being given 6wks.i was very lucky to be able to have surgery. be there for your dad.as long as his dr keeps up the meds he won't be in pain.maybe try getting him to eat soups and pasta.definately nothing with fat or oil. god luck and try and learn as much as you can about your dad.....first job,first pet..all that s..t so you know you wasted NO time with him! God Bless,Margro
0 Kudos
mazza
Occasional Contributor

Hi not so helpless daughter. You are there for your Dad and that makes such a difference. By all means remain positive, it can buy extra time Swayze is an example. My heart goes out to all of you. I am a three year survivor, I am sure a few of my chidren are still in denial. It is a common emotion for everyone. My advice at the moment could be wrong? But from a personal point of view it is a good time o reminisce and most importantly talk to each other. Please do not take this next bit the wrong way. I have heard of people that have parties, like a pre wake. Everyone has a chance to say how they feel and how much your Dad has contributed to their life. Thinking of you all.  Mazza
0 Kudos
HELPLESSDAUGHTE
Occasional Contributor